Road construction may lead to delays, so please plan your visit accordingly.


July 13th, 2019

Taliesin Preservation’s historian Keiran Murphy’s weekly round-up of noteworthy FLLW resources.

Frank Lloyd Wright with a huge bottle of champagne (a “methuselah”) during his birthday celebration in 1954 with the President of Florida Southern College Ludd Spivey. The college also commissioned Wright for a campus in Lakeland, FL. (Property: The Capital Times.)


Wright’s work also deserves a toast of champagne after UNESCO named Taliesin and seven other Frank Lloyd Wright buildings in the United States as World Heritage Sites on July 7. Here’s the video clip of the official announcement and appreciation remarks from the American delegate and Fallingwater Director Emerita, Lynda Waggoner.


A comprehensive list of honors bestowed upon Wright and buildings he designed.

Awards, honorary degrees, memberships and other distinctions Frank Lloyd Wright received:

1919—Kenchicko Ho, Royal Household Japan (given by the Imperial Household)

1927—Honorary member of the Academie Royale des Beaux Arts, Belgium

1929—”Extraordinary Honorary Member” of the Akademie der Kunst, Berlin

1932—Honorary member of the National Academy of Brazil

1939—Honorary MA by Wesleyan University, Middleton, CT

1941—Honorary member of the Royal Institute of British Architects; The Royal Gold Medal for Architecture, conferred by King George VI;  The Sir George Watson Chair by the Royal Institute of British Architects and honored by the Sulgrave Manor Board

1942—Honorary member of the National Academy of Architects, Brazil

1943—Honorary member of the National Academy of Architects, Mexico

1946—Honorary member of the National Academy of Finland

1947—’Honorary Doctorate’ of Fine Arts by Princeton University

1949—Honorary member of the American National Institute of Arts and Letters; The Gold Medal by the American Institute of Architects (AIA); The Gold Medal from the Philadelphia chapter of the AIA; and an honorary degree by the Peter Cooper Foundation for the Advancement of Art

1950—’Honorary Doctorate’ of Law by Florida Southern College and Centennial Award by “Popular Mechanics” magazine

1951—Medici Medal from the city of Florence, Italy and The Star of Solidarity in the Doge’s Palace, Venice, Italy

1953—Honorary member of the Akademie Royal des Beaux Arts, Stockholm and honorary member of the National Academy of Finland

1954—Brown Medal (plus a citation) by The Franklin Institute in Philadelphia and an ‘Honorary Doctorate’ of Fine Arts, Yale

1955—’Honorary Doctorate’ in Fine Arts from the University of Wisconsin-Madison; honorary degree by the Technische Hochschule of Zurich; and an honorary degree by the Technische Hochschule of Darmstadt

1958—Gold Medal by the National Concrete Masonry Association

Wright designs that are National Historic Landmarks:

1. Aline Barnsdall Complex (Hollyhock House), Los Angeles, CA (designated March 29, 2007)
2. Beth Sholom Synagogue, Elkins Park, PA (designated March 29, 2007)
3. James Charnley House, Chicago, IL (designated August 5, 1998)
4. Avery Coonley House, Riverside, IL (designated December 30, 1970)
5. Susan Lawrence Dana House, Springfield, IL (designated January 7, 1976)
6. Fallingwater (Edgar J. Kaufmann House), Bear Run, PA (designated May 11, 1976)
7. First Unitarian Society Meeting House, Shorewood Hills, WI (designated August 18, 2004)
8. Florida Southern College Historic District, Lakeland, FL (designated March 2, 2012)
9. Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York City, NY (designated October 6, 2008)
10. I.N. and Bernardine Hagan House, Chalkhill, PA (designated May 16, 2000)
11. Hanna-Honeycomb House (Paul R. Hanna House), Palo Alto, CA (designated June 29, 1989)
12. Isidore Heller House, Chicago, IL (designated August 18, 2004)
13. Arthur Heurtley House, Oak Park, IL (designated February 16, 2000)
14. Herbert and Katherine Jacobs First House, Madison, WI (designated July 31, 2003)
15. Herbert and Katherine Jacobs Second House, Middleton, WI (designated July 31, 2003)
16. Herbert F. Johnson House (Wingspread), Wind Point, WI (designated June 29, 1989)
17. S.C. Johnson and Son, Inc. Administration Building and Research Tower, Racine, WI (designated January 7, 1976)
18. Marin County Civic Center, San Rafael, CA (designated July 17, 1991)
19. Darwin D. Martin House, Buffalo, NY (designated February 24, 1986)
20. The Price Tower, Bartlesville, OK (designated March 29, 2007)
21. Frederick C. Robie House, Chicago, IL (designated November 27, 1963)
22. Taliesin, Spring Green, WI (designated January 7, 1976)
23. Taliesin West, Scottsdale, AZ (designated May 20, 1982)
24. Ferdinand F. Tomek House, Riverside, IL (The Ship House) (designated January 20, 1999)
25. Unity Temple, Oak Park, IL (designated December 30, 1970)
26. Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio, Oak Park, IL (designated January 7, 1976)