Celebrating the Radiant Spirit of Frank Lloyd Wright's Legacy

Photograph by Nathan Rist, Taliesin 2015

Featuring the musical talent of famed-drummer Max Weinberg and his 4-piece band live in the Hillside Drafting Studio. Weinberg invites the audience to create the set list, in real time, performing songs from the glory days of rock and roll. A dinner will be prepared by celebrated Chef Luke Zahm of the Driftless Café and the culinary food artisan team of our Riverview Terrace Café featuring Taliesin-grown organic produce. Kyle Cherek, host of the Emmy Award-winning “Wisconsin Foodie” series will emcee.

Max Weinberg
Luke Zahm
Kyle Cherek

Reception - 6 PM

Dinner & Awards - 7 PM

Music & Dancing - 8:30 PM

Evening Attire

Taliesin Renewal Gala, 2017

Register for the Gala

150 seats are available. Tickets for individual participants are $250 each. Lodging at the nearby House on the Rock Resort, with transportation to and from the gala, may be added for $167.

Fill out my online form.

Shining Brow Awards

Winners to be announced!

The Shining Brow Awards recognize and honor individuals, businesses, and organizations in the field of architecture and its allied arts and sciences who demonstrate profound and enduring creative and professional excellence internationally. By awarding their distinguished achievements, Taliesin Preservation strives to inspire education on contemporary bodies of work that exemplify the radiant spirit of Frank Lloyd Wright’s historic Welsh definition of genius:

An Eye to See Nature,
A Heart to Feel Nature,
and the Courage to Follow Nature


  1. Nominees shall be engaged in exemplary professional practice within the disciplines of Architecture, Interior Design, Engineering, Historic Preservation, Planning, Landscape Architecture, Fine Arts, Applied Arts, Agriculture, Natural Sciences, Social Sciences, or Community Leadership. Other disciplines may be considered on a case-by-case basis by the Shining Brow Award Committee.
  2. The work of the nominees shall demonstrably:
    • Promote the health, wellness, higher consciousness, and integrity of the human condition through a closer relationship to Nature.
    • Advance their field through establishing and educating others on professional standards that perceive beyond the present.
    • Elevate living standards and community wellbeing through an improved natural, cultural, and built environment.
    • Delight people’s minds and hearts as a creator of humane aesthetic beauty, a generator of knowledge or ideals, and a steward of history and Nature.
    • Nurture a democratic culture that honors the character and spirit of freedom in the communities where they practice.


  • Founders: Honors those whose efforts enabled the creation of Taliesin Preservation and whose dedication has sustained its long-term vitality and spirit of renewal.
  • Architecture: Honors architectural designers and closely related professional practitioners.
  • Allied Arts and Sciences: Honors individuals in fields that are allied with architecture in the realm of human environments.
  • Historic Preservation: Honors historic preservationists and closely related professional practitioners.
  • Creative Placemaking: Honors those who strategically shape the physical and social character of a community around arts and cultural activities to build the character of place.
  • Social Justice: Honors those whose work promotes fair and just relations between the individual and society.

Taliesin Preservation Board of Trustees


Todd Asmuth, Director-at-Large
Sarah Klavas, Governor Appointee
Howard Marklein, Treasurer
Philip Prange, Secretary
Amy Loewenstein Scanlon
Daniel Stephans
Jaime Zimmerman
Douglas Buck, Vice-Chair
Paul Krajniak
T.K. McClintock
Gerard A. Randall
Mark Schmitz
James Tye
Jane Clark
Ray Lipman, Chair
Diane Morgenthaler, CDME
Roshelle Ritzenthaler
Valentine J. Schute, Jr., AIA
Gary Zimmer


Effi M. Casey
Sue Ann Thompson
Richard D. Pauls
Tommy G. Thompson
Frederick P. Stratton, Jr.