Taliesin Preservation and book store

Skip to Main Content »

Taliesin Plein Air

 

Jump to Participating Artists


About Taliesin Plein Air

Graciously aligning with Wright’s philosophy of organic architecture, the arts, land stewardship, and education, Taliesin Plein Air is a celebration of beauty under the umbrella of Wright’s design, bringing together exceptional artists, nature enthusiasts, art collectors, Taliesin patrons and community.

Taliesin Preservation brings regional artists renowned for their work en plein air, for a week-long painting event on the 800-acre Taliesin estate. During the week, artists will be free to paint any outdoor subject or setting within the boundaries established on the private estate, culminating with a Buyers’ Reception and Quick Paint Off-the-Easel for artists to showcase a selection of paintings for purchase.

Plein air painting is a popular and interpretive approach to learning from nature – also at the root of influence for Frank Lloyd Wright. Fused with the iconic architecture at Taliesin are patchworks of organic farmland, restored prairies, intimate waterways, stunning oak trees, orchards, gardens, vineyards, and collections.

Income generated from the week-long event will directly support the artistic, cultural and educational programs that breathe life into the buildings.


Public Events:


Buyers’ Reception – Friday, September 21, 6-9 p.m. | $80  ($60 of ticket price may go towards the purchase of one painting – limit one voucher per painting)

Location: Frank Lloyd Wright Visitor Center
Art lovers and collectors meet and mingle with the Taliesin Plein Air artists, and enjoy the first opportunity to purchase paintings created by each artist. All artwork is for sale and ready to go home that evening. Includes hors-d'oeuvres, desserts, a cash bar and Artist’s Choice Award.

 

book online

 


Quick Paint Celebration & Off-the-Easel Sale – Saturday, September 22 | FREE

  • Quick Paint 9 a.m. - 11 a.m.
  • Off-the-Easel Sale Noon - 2 p.m.

Location: Hillside School Grounds on the Taliesin estate
Free and open to the public (pre-register required)
A free event for art enthusiasts of all ages. Watch the featured artists paint for a scheduled two-hour time frame on the Taliesin estate, followed by an off-the-easel sale of the paintings and People’s Choice Award. Food and beverage available for purchase.

 

book online

 


 This project is made possible by funds provided by the Spring Green Area Arts Coalition and the Wisconsin Arts Board.

                            

 

Participating Artists


Lori Beringer • Plymouth, WI • loriberinger.com





Marla Brenner • Madison, WI • marlabrenner.com

 
 
 


Thomas Buchs • Waukesha, WI • thomasbuchs.com

 



Kathleen D’Angelo • Monticello, WI • kathleendangeloart.com

 

 



Audrey Dulmes • Fox Point, WI • audreydulmesart.com




Patricia Duren • Cazenovia, WI • patriciaduren.com




James Faecke • Madison, WI • jamesfaecke.com




Thomas Gilbert • Madison, WI




Barbara Hayden • Oconomowoc, WI • barbarahaydenfineartist.com




Susan Klabak • Wild Rose, WI • susanklabak.com




Frank Korb • Burlington, WI • frankkorb.com




Carolyn Larkin • Pewaukee, WI • paintlarkin.com




Les Leffingwell • New Berlin, WI • Leffingwell.artistwebsites.com




Bridget Lyle Wolf • Milwaukee, WI • 2palmsstudios.com

 



John Mix • Madison, WI • johnmix.com

 



Jan Norsetter • Verona, WI • jannorsetter.com




D.K. Palecek • Kaukauna, WI • dkpalecek.com




Georgene Pomplun • Mount Horeb, WI




Ann Powell • Milwaukee, WI • paintit-black.com




Pamela Ruschman • Mequon, WI • pamelaruschman.com




Tom Smith • Wauwatosa, WI • tomsmithfineart.com




Daniel Stauff • Milwaukee, WI • 2palmsstudios.com

 



Sherri Thomas • Larsen, WI • sherrithomas.com




Wendie Thompson • Oconomowoc, WI • divisionofspace.blogspot.com




Jane Varda • Mazomanie, WI • janevarda.com




Darya Vassina • Madison, WI • springharborart.com

 
 


Diane Washa • Madison, WI • dianewasha.com

 



Lianne Westcot • Solon, IA • liannewestcot.com

 
 
 


Rick Yanke • Madison, WI • ricksartstudio.org

 
 

There are no products matching the selection.