Frank Lloyd Wright’s “Riverview Terrace” was his only exclusive restaurant design. It was intended for travelers and locals alike, and to be the gateway to visiting Taliesin. We serve local and seasonal cuisine, some of which is grown right here on the Taliesin estate.
The Cafe is currently being operated by the participants of the Food Artisan Immersion Program. The program, launched in 2018 and advised by farm-to-table pioneer and founder of L’Etoile, Odessa Piper, is founded on the principle that respect for nature and all that grows is the beginning of understanding good food.
April – Friday, Saturday, Sunday 11 a.m. – 3p.m.
May-October – Everyday 11 a.m. – 3p.m.
For more information, please call (877) 588-7900
*Our menu changes regularly based on availability and seasonality of produce from our Farm Alliances.
In 1953, Frank Lloyd Wright-designed a building adjacent to the Taliesin estate, which he called the “gateway” to Taliesin. Wright designed the building to overlook the Wisconsin River and intended it to serve as a restaurant with a meeting room for his potential clients. While the architect began construction on the building in 1953, he was unable to complete it before his death in 1959. His former apprentices completed the building in 1967 and it operated as an independent restaurant, The Spring Green, for 25 years.
In 1993, Taliesin Preservation purchased The Spring Green in order to convert it into a visitor center, with a gift shop and tour program. The building was renovated in 1993 and the next year saw the first full season of tours from the building. Thus, the building finally became the gateway that Wright had envisioned.